Conclusion of Carmelite Order Posts or Why I am writing about by A. W. Tozer

I had no idea that in February of 2008, when I wrote a series of posts on the Carmelite Order in my 2000 Years of Deception and Error series, that it would be almost a year before the series would come to a conclusion.

The initial series on the Carmelite Order (whose emphasis is contemplative prayer and a mystical union with God), included posts about John of the
Cross and Teresa of Avila
, Brother Lawrence, and Brother Lawrence’s book, Practicing the Presence of God.

In my research, I read that Brother Lawrence’s mystical, unbiblical book, Practicing the Presence of God, was a favorite of the preacher, A. W. Tozer,
who I had always thought of as a strong biblical preacher. As I read Tozer’s
The Pursuit of God, which I had randomly chosen, I looked for any mystical influence.

In the first chapter of The Pursuit of God, I found favorable references to the Roman Catholics, Augustine, and St. Bernard; the mystical book, Cloud of Unknowing; and von Hugel, a name I’d not heard of.

Quite surprised, I skimmed through the rest of The Pursuit of God. The people Tozer quoted and praised were often unknown or little known to me. The words, phrases, and concepts were often foreign to me—and not biblical.

To prepare my readers to understand the terms and phrases Tozer used and compare them with God’s Word, I started a God’s Word or Man’s Words and Experience post series, the first of which was titled, Of “Practice the Presence”, “God’s Heart”, “Pursue”, “Seek”, “Abide”, “God’s Face.”

In July 2008, I started the last of the God’s Word or Man’s Words and Experience posts, with what turned out to be another long series of posts defining the Real Presence in the Eucharist, and the influence it has had
and continues to have on American education, culture, and politics.

Behind the men, words, phrases, and ideas in Tozer’s The Pursuit of God,
is another major layer of men and philosophies that I am in the process of researching. It will take me some time to gather all the information.

Rather than wait what may be months for that research, I decided to post
some of the information I have gathered on Tozer, to alert people to be aware
of unbiblical thinking when reading books assumed to be biblical or Christian—no matter who wrote it, what the title or when it was written.

God’s WORD

    “Beloved, believe not every spirit, but try the spirits whether they are of God: because many false prophets are gone out into the world.”—1 John 4:1

    “Behold, the days come, saith the Lord GOD, that I will send
    a famine in the land, not a famine of bread, nor a thirst for water, but of hearing the words of the LORD:”—Amos 8:11

Other Posts related to Tozer and The Pursuit of God
Was A. W. Tozer a Mystic?
A. W. Tozer, the Mystic, Part 1
Tozer the Mystic, Part 2, What is wrong with Pursuing God?
A. W. Tozer, The Pursuit of God and Augustine
A. W. Tozer, The Pursuit of God, von Hugel, Bernard of Clairvaux, and the
Cloud of Unknowing

A. W. Tozer, The Pursuit of God, the Chinese sage, Laotze, and Faber, the Catholic Hymnwriter
A. W. Tozer, The Pursuit of God, Thomas a Kempis, and Nicholas of Cusa
Unbiblical and/or mystical phrases, in The Pursuit of God by A. W. Tozer
What is so appealing about the The Pursuit of God by Tozer?
JTB series: Scripture compared with some phrases in The Pursuit of God

One response to “Conclusion of Carmelite Order Posts or Why I am writing about by A. W. Tozer

  1. I can’t thank you enough for your timely pieces on A W Tozer. To say that my friends and myself have been badly hurt by the Emergent Church and contemplative theolgy techniques is to put it very mildly.

    We have escaped (Thanks to God ) from extreme delusion.

    I have tried to avoid anything of the mystical and have read a few of Tozer’s books which I was finding very informative and uplifting.

    I don’t know what made me check the internet to see if there might be the slimmest chance of his being involved in any of these practices and have just purchased ‘In puruit of God’ which I was getting quite involved in but had a few misgivings.

    This is when I came across your articles and could hardly believe what I read .

    There I would have been once again drawn into Satan’s snare if it hadn’t been for your good self writing on this very book.

    I am so very grateful to you May God bless you in your work , You have been very much used by Him as I will inform many people I know here in Scotland of your article.

    In Him

    Ailsa

Leave a Reply

